Published Fri 01 Mar 2024


The University of Adelaide's passion for basketball soared, when more than 90 students recently trialled for the AU WAATU men's and women's teams. The enthusiastic response presented a big challenge for the coaching staff with final selections being made this weekend.


Adelaide University Sport and Fitness CEO, Michelle Wilson, acknowledged the exceptional talent of the 2024 cohort, stating, "The calibre of players coming out of the University of Adelaide is exceptional, and anyone who attended the trials should be very proud of their skills. With only 16 spots on each squad, our coaching staff had to make some tough decisions. It's not a bad situation to be in, but we want to thank everyone who took the time and effort to attend the trials and to please try again next year!"


Head Coach Scott Freer said “We are excited by the 2024 squad we have selected. There is a mix of strong leadership and talent from NBL1 Central clubs in both our men’s and women’s team. We will be making final decisions at training this Sunday and we can’t wait for round one”.


These elite players are gearing up to represent the University of Adelaide in the University Basketball League Australia (UBL), a fully funded, gender-equal, Semi-Professional National Basketball League for University Students. The UBL, organised by UniSport AUS, returns for its fourth season in 2024, featuring thirteen women's and thirteen men's teams in an eight-week nationwide battle culminating in a two-week final series.


Waatu is Kaurna language for ‘coming together for a common goal’. The Home of the University of Adelaide is on Kaurna land. Our Men’s and Women’s Teams will bring together its people based on Success, Enjoyment and Pride.


The University of Adelaide are the only South Australian university in the UBL, and we extend a warm invitation to the university community to join us for the FREE home games at Wayville. Come and join the excitement as these talented student-athletes display their skills on the court.


The 2024 season spans from March to May, so get ready to rally behind the Waatu and be part of the ‘Waatu Crew’ and show your University pride!


Can't make a game, but don't want to miss out? 

Thanks to UniSportTV, you can live stream ALL UBL games - for FREE... so there's no excuse to miss any of the Waatu games. It’s a web based platform with no cost to view, no login or no sign up requirements, you just need to head to UniSportTV and tune in.


Find out more about the AU Waatu here







  • Clara (Shuk Mei) Tong

  • Ellamay Brooks-Birve

  • Erin Pratt

  • Evie Lovell

  • Georgia Winter

  • Ines Bayle

  • Jasmin Francis

  • Jemima Whitton

  • Madhukesha Pathmanathan

  • Meaza Otto

  • Petra Rychtarcikova

  • Raima Johnson

  • Scarlett Joynes




  • Andrew Brennan

  • Ayual Garang

  • Bailey Nathan

  • Darcy McNamara

  • Emil Kourani

  • Harry Bruce

  • Issac Hampel

  • Mitch Cretan

  • Patrick Moriarty

  • Samuel Homburg

  • Samuel Davies

  • Yafet Arefaine

  • William Hammerl

  • Jun Datario

  • Rupert Males

  • Max Burton

  • Domenico Perrotta